Quantcast

Think I'm drinking the Koolaid...

zahgurim

Underwater monkey
Mar 9, 2005
lolAsia
...and finally going tubeless.

I remember the initial Mavic offerings were soft as cheese. Fixed now?

Other tham Mavic, are there any other DH-worthy tubeless-ready rims out there?

Steve M

Turbo Monkey
Mar 3, 2007
Whistler
A bit of background to put things in perspective - I've destroyed 721s in a single day, took me about a month to crack (in several places), dent and flatspot a Mag30, and I've completely wrecked numerous other rims in fairly short spaces of time. This is partly because I'm a hack, but mostly because I'm a hack. I'm also about 200lbs.

I've been running 823s for the past 2 months or so, and I've taken them to all the roughest, most brutal rim-eating tracks we have down here... and they still don't show any sign of real damage. No flatspots (though a slight side-to-side buckle in the rear one that I haven't been bothered to true out), no dents, no sidewalls caving in, no cracks, no spokes losing tension from the rim gradually getting bashed closer to the hub, nothing. I was pretty worried when I bought them that I'd kill em quick (and they are freaking expensive, over here at least), but I've been pleasantly surprised - they've been great so far. Having said that, I'll probably write one off tomorrow, but in all seriousness I've been quite impressed. They're certainly not made out of the play-doh that the originals were said to be.

fred.r

Dwangus Bogans
May 9, 2006
Same as the story above.