Quantcast
  1. The site migration has been completed successfully from vBulletin to XenForo. Please be patient with the site speed until we have finished rebuilding all of the caches - it may take a few hours. If you had previously linked your Facebook account, you will have to set it up again.

    Click here for more information.
  2. The new Classifieds are in place! The goal was to provide the best balance of usability and convenience - many liked the forum system, but some preferred the granularity of the newer classifieds. Hopefully this provides a good balance.

    Sorry, data was not migrated from the old system. Please re-list your items.

    Check out the new Classifieds here!

WTH: Drivers out of date?

Discussion in 'vBulletin Archive' started by eric strt6, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. eric strt6 Resident Curmudgeon

    Rep  |  Likes:
    5   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    7,309
    Location:
    free at last, free at last
    so I'm browsing the lounge and the page closes. a message pops up claiming to be from the webpage saying that my drivers are out of date and I need to upgrade them then some " Page pops up with install these... needless to say I shut down IE9 and started my virus scan. running vista

    I clicked on a thead not any of the ads

    Rogue script?
    #1 Mar 29, 2012   
  2. stevew unique white person

    Rep  |  Likes:
    10   |   13
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2001
    Messages:
    22,941
    you need a apple.
    #2 Mar 29, 2012   
  3. worship_mud New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,478
    here you go...

    #3 Mar 30, 2012   
  4. binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    12   |   5
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,030
    Location:
    NC
    I tried to replicate this and can't. It could have been an ad that squeaked through the ad networks and is now removed, but they are usually pretty good about that. I'd be more inclined to suspect something local on your machine.

    Anyone else experience this?
    #4 Mar 30, 2012   
  5. DaveW Space Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    4   |   5
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    6,922
    Location:
    Karori, Poneke, Te Ika-a-Maui
    No but all the layout of the pages has been screwy for me for the last day?
    Links back from the thread back out to the forum are gone and lots of text boxes/links running over the top of each other in random places, and the notification/pm/login/account line of links usually top right is gone?
    #5 Mar 30, 2012   
  6. H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,981
    Fixed your post for happier ending.
    #6 Mar 30, 2012   
  7. binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    12   |   5
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,030
    Location:
    NC
    What browser?
    #7 Mar 30, 2012   
  8. DaveW Space Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    4   |   5
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    6,922
    Location:
    Karori, Poneke, Te Ika-a-Maui
    Firefox 11.0
    #8 Mar 30, 2012   
  9. DaveW Space Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    4   |   5
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    6,922
    Location:
    Karori, Poneke, Te Ika-a-Maui
    Works fine in Chrome though.... But I reserve Chrome for just using on farcebook due to their tracking policy and lack of privacy trust in me.
    #9 Mar 30, 2012   
  10. binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    12   |   5
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,030
    Location:
    NC
    Had no idea. Working on most of it - I can't duplicate your issue with the missing notification/pm/settings/etc. bar, though. That appears just fine for me. It's missing even if you're logged in? It looks like most of these issues appear when you're not logged in.
    #10 Mar 31, 2012   
  11. DaveW Space Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    4   |   5
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    6,922
    Location:
    Karori, Poneke, Te Ika-a-Maui
    Nope all happening while I'm logged on. :(
    #11 Mar 31, 2012   
  12. dante Unabomber

    Rep  |  Likes:
    3   |   2
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8,957
    Location:
    looking for classic NE singletrack
    I got the "drivers out of date", but on a different website (www.madison.com). It popped up along with a dialog box (update drivers), but the header on the page (little icon on the tab?) still had the default madison.com logo. It's definitely something floating out there, but don't think it's ridemonkey specific.
    #12 Apr 1, 2012   
  13. eric strt6 Resident Curmudgeon

    Rep  |  Likes:
    5   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    7,309
    Location:
    free at last, free at last
    tried to hit me again. my firewall blocked it

    Fake App Attack
    org.flixsee.net dns 66.150.14.86,80
    its a adware installer
    #13 Apr 6, 2012   

Share This Page