Quantcast

Somewhat bike related educational problem

b-man

Chimp
May 25, 2002
ct
I posted this on NSMB, but I'd really appreciate any and all advice/thoughts on my dilemma.

Hey all,
I'm a 9th grade student (going into 10th) who attended a private day school (went up to 9th grade, nobody really knows why). I applied to a few private boarding schools and got waitlisted at a few, accepted none. So I planned on going to my local high school, fine with that, a few friends were going there.

About 4 days ago, I got accepted at possibly the best private boarding school in the U.S., just to put it out there. Now I have a dilemma. I can't decide between going away and leaving. I'd have to leave biking behind, having no stunts or opportunities to ride as much. This is major. I might buy a street/park/dj bike and learn some skills there, but I can't give up freeriding.

Leaving everything familiar behind would be a lot for me, too. I know I will have to do this for college, but I'm a lot younger than college-age.

There are many pros and cons to each school, but the list seems much more impressive for boarding school. However, there are significant things at home that I am very attached to. Additionally, I can't eat some ingredients that are in many foods. This would be a nuisance at boarding school.

I've tried many things from envisioning myself at each school, acting as though I'd made the decision to attend one or the other, making "pros" sheets... But each time I feel as though I can't leave biking, but then I'll be leaving behind a better education. Argh.

BurlyShirley

Rex Grossman Will Rise Again
Jul 4, 2002
TN
Boarding school just sounds like it sucks. Why not just go to regular high school and get drunk and get into fights and ride your bike and chase women? It seems to work for the other 97% of people who dont go to boarding school.

mcA896

Turbo Monkey
Aug 15, 2003
Cape Cod, MA