Quantcast

riser bars with the least amount of back-sweep?

'size

Turbo Monkey
May 30, 2007
AZ
so while i'm healing from a broken wrist and soft tissue damage i've noticed things seem to feel better when my wrists are at a more neutral position while riding around the neighborhood (no trail riding yet). i know renthal are popular and have less back-sweep than 'standard'. any other brands i should look at in the aluminum, 31.8, ~20mm rise, ~750mm width category?

Katz

Monkey
Jun 8, 2012
Arizona
I've been using Spank's Oozy trail 780 vibrocore since October 2018. 5 x 7-deg bend, same as Renthal. It only comes in either 15mm or 25mm rise, though. No 20mm.

While I'm really not sure how effective the foam filling is, its weight (270 grams for 780mm width) suggests much thinner wall thickness than comparable handlebars. It is noticeably more flexy than other bars I've tried in the past, though not enough to bother me while riding - I do feel slight delay when I preload & yank the front wheel up off the flat ground for bunnyhops, but that's about it.

I haven't had any durability issue but I'm old and I don't ride that hard. May not be suitable if you're a strong rider and/or hit big jumps and stuff.

boostindoubles

Nacho Libre
Mar 16, 2004
Yakistan
According to this review more backsweep is better for wrists?

I ordered a pair since my left wrist is fucked, hopefully I can get stronger and ride again soon.

Westy

the teste
Nov 22, 2002
Sleazattle
According to this review more backsweep is better for wrists?

I ordered a pair since my left wrist is fucked, hopefully I can get stronger and ride again soon.

I had some wrist problems a good decade ago when I thought crashing all the time was fun. More sweep definitely helped. In fact for a while I could only handle the pain while riding some old Titec Hellbents.