Quantcast

riding and camping in NC

def

Monkey
Feb 12, 2003
knoxville, tn
I know not everyone on this site rides only their dh bikes and maybe some of the NC cats can help me out a little. I'm taking a few days off and doing a little solo excursion w/ a tent, my xc bike and a cooler of good beer. I'm going to hit some different places each day and do some longish, but mellowish rides.

Day 1: Ocoee (white water center - tanasi). Fun trails and I helped build one when I was an intern w/ the forest service in college.
Day 2: Tsali. People around here bash it and say its too easy, but its just fun.
Day 3: ??? Thats my question. I'm thinking something dupont/pisgah but I don't want anything too over the top. My thought right now is Bent Creek because of the campgound and its fun and flowy. I'm not looking for anything like black mtn or claw hammer (which have their place and I do enjoy at times), just something where I can get away and have fun. I remember laurel mtn was fun, but I can't recall if there was camping close by.

I'm just looking for some opinions/suggestions from anyone who rides up there. Thanks guys.

bizutch

Delicate CUSTOM flower
Dec 11, 2001
Over your shoulder whispering
Primitive camp out at Pink Beds. You'll be on the dirt road that connects you to Pink Beds, Laurel Mtn and the Fish Hatchery as well as the resot of Pisgah and even Dupont. You won't have to set up camp 3 times.

motomike

Turbo Monkey
Jan 19, 2005
North Carolina
I did a little camping excursion in the summer and hit Bent Creek, Pisgah(laurel mtn, avery creek, lower black mtn), and Dupont.

*you must ride Dupont.
*Bent Creek is screwed up right now. They are logging over most of the good singletrack.
*I really like occoe and Tsali. They are trails that you can just get a flow going and forget about everything else. People who bash them are stupid.

MTB_Rob_NC

What do I have to do to get you in this car TODAY?
Nov 15, 2002
Charlotte, NC
motomike said: