Quantcast

New to SS, bad chainline ensues

tgreathead

Monkey
Jan 14, 2005
Los Angeles
EDIT: Oops, should clarify the thread title; I'm new to SS hubs, I'm very familiar with converting a cassette hub to SS :)

I've recently built up a Soul Cycles Hooligan using all my spare parts. The one thing I hadn't used before was a SS rear wheel with a freewheel. After installing everything the chainline is too far in, lines up almost perfect with the inner ring of my cranks. I'm using a 113 BB spindle and anything smaller would have the cranks hit the chainstays. I'm fine for now since I have a 26t inner ring I'm using but I'd like to have it line up with the middle/outer slot on the cranks so I can setup some proper gearing.

Is there a way to adjust how far out the freewheel sits? It doesn't need to go far but the current chainline would give me problems for sure.

I'll post some pics tonight if that will help.

Thanks,
--Taylor

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
hrmmm...maybe you'll need SS specific cranks? Hope that's not the case though as that would be costly.

Hopefully someone with more experience than me will chime in and help.

Mark

tgreathead

Monkey
Jan 14, 2005
Los Angeles
hrmmm...maybe you'll need SS specific cranks? Hope that's not the case though as that would be costly.

Hopefully someone with more experience than me will chime in and help.

Mark
Ya, I figured that might be a possibility but I hope not, I was trying to keep it my 'spare parts' build. Thanks though :)

Feb 13, 2006
I doubt that a SS crank would change things much, the SS versions of cranks like the Truvativ Stylo and the Race Face Evolve XC are just one-ring versions of their multi-ring cranks.

I don't understand how you have determined that the chain line is off.

Did you try mounting the front chainring in the middle ring spot?

Were you able to ride the bike with that setup?

What method are you using for chain length/tension?