Quantcast

living in CA?

Arutha

Monkey
Nov 26, 2002
Western PA
Hey guys. I am currently in PA and am looking for a change of scenery. Have a wife and little baby and am thinking about CA. I am a network engineer and I know it costs more to live out there but I am trying to get a better understanding of life and costs. I see a similar house in the San Diego area would be around 500k compared to 200k here. I assume it is no different in other areas of CA? What is a typical commute? Certain areas of CA better? Many people commute 30 miles a day and how viable is that?

Most jobs I see that I'd like are around San Jose. :( But I do see some around LA, San Diego and Sacramento. Anywhere to stay away from?

If anyone can point me to some info I can look for myself I will, but wanted to get some ideas from some :monkey: s

Well, San Jose and San Diego have some of the highest cost of living and cost of real estate in all of California... and San Diego salaries don't compensate for that fact (statistically lower for same jobs).

"Los Angeles" is a term applied to a really, really big place, and there are many very different areas within it, including many that are way more affordable than San Jose or Diego.

dhjill

Monkey
Feb 26, 2003
SD Cali
EBasil said:
Well, San Jose and San Diego have some of the highest cost of living and cost of real estate in all of California... and San Diego salaries don't compensate for that fact (statistically lower for same jobs).

"Los Angeles" is a term applied to a really, really big place, and there are many very different areas within it, including many that are way more affordable than San Jose or Diego.
Yeah, what he said. :)