Quantcast

How to hide your phone number when calling from your office phone?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sanjuro, Jul 5, 2006.

  1. sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,474
    Location:
    SF
    Normally, I dial 9 then the number to call outside calls. But I have to call some psycho about a bike sale, and I tried *67, 9 or 9, *67 and neither worked.

    Anyone know how to do this?
    #1
  2. Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,408
    Location:
    New England
    Depends on your PBX, but mostl likely you can't.
    #2
  3. binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    28   |   31
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,170
    Location:
    NC
    *67, 9 won't work because you need to be on an outside line in order to use *67.

    I have no idea why 9, *67 won't work, though. How do you know it doesn't work? You aren't calling inside your own bike shop to test it, are you? Because that might cause something funny with the *67, like computer data routing inside its own network acts differently, even if the connection initially went outside the network (i.e. to an external IP) and came back in.
    #3
  4. Biscuit New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,770
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    You could try one of those internet phone services. That way he can't call you back.

    .. and don't call me psycho.
    #4
  5. sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,474
    Location:
    SF
    I did try 9, *67; no luck of course. This is not my shop, but rather my big office phone system, and I wasn't even able to find a manual on how to program the buttons.
    #5
  6. mogulskr New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    641
    Location:
    NH
    More often then not on a office phone system your personal number won't be displayed. Usually the trunking number will come up, have you checked to see if you number shows up on outside lines?
    #6
  7. Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,075
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Use skype - free north american calling to landlines until jan 07
    #7
  8. Qman Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Walla Walla State Pen
    Costco calling card.
    #8
  9. Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep  |  Likes:
    5   |   8
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,837
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    Pay phone.
    #9
  10. Changleen Paranoid Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    9,870
    Location:
    WGTN, NZ
    It depends on your PABX or whatever calling system you have in place. Some will do it, others won't. Actually most will but it has to be enabled.
    #10
  11. sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,474
    Location:
    SF
    we have a winner...
    #11