Quantcast

How to hide your phone number when calling from your office phone?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sanjuro, Jul 5, 2006.

  1. sanjuro

    sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,474
    Location:
    SF
    Normally, I dial 9 then the number to call outside calls. But I have to call some psycho about a bike sale, and I tried *67, 9 or 9, *67 and neither worked.

    Anyone know how to do this?
     
    #1 -   Jul 5, 2006

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,408
    Location:
    New England
    Depends on your PBX, but mostl likely you can't.
     
    #2 -   Jul 5, 2006
  3. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    40   |   74
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,372
    Location:
    NC
    *67, 9 won't work because you need to be on an outside line in order to use *67.

    I have no idea why 9, *67 won't work, though. How do you know it doesn't work? You aren't calling inside your own bike shop to test it, are you? Because that might cause something funny with the *67, like computer data routing inside its own network acts differently, even if the connection initially went outside the network (i.e. to an external IP) and came back in.
     
    #3 -   Jul 5, 2006
  4. Biscuit

    Biscuit Turbo Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    1,768
    Location:
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    You could try one of those internet phone services. That way he can't call you back.

    .. and don't call me psycho.
     
    #4 -   Jul 5, 2006
  5. sanjuro

    sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,474
    Location:
    SF
    I did try 9, *67; no luck of course. This is not my shop, but rather my big office phone system, and I wasn't even able to find a manual on how to program the buttons.
     
    #5 -   Jul 5, 2006
  6. mogulskr

    mogulskr Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    641
    Location:
    NH
    More often then not on a office phone system your personal number won't be displayed. Usually the trunking number will come up, have you checked to see if you number shows up on outside lines?
     
    #6 -   Jul 5, 2006
  7. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,075
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Use skype - free north american calling to landlines until jan 07
     
    #7 -   Jul 5, 2006
  8. Qman

    Qman Monkey

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Walla Walla State Pen
    Costco calling card.
     
    #8 -   Jul 5, 2006
  9. Wumpus

    Wumpus makes avatars better

    Rep  |  Likes:
    16   |   51
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,975
    Location:
    Six Shooter Junction
    Pay phone.
     
    #9 -   Jul 5, 2006
  10. Changleen

    Changleen Paranoid Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    9,870
    Location:
    WGTN, NZ
    It depends on your PABX or whatever calling system you have in place. Some will do it, others won't. Actually most will but it has to be enabled.
     
  11. sanjuro

    sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,474
    Location:
    SF
    we have a winner...