Quantcast

Hands and feet going mildly numb on trail bike....

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
2013 Stumpjumper - Medium
saddle is "good" (same saddle type I have been using for 2-3 years now, was fitted for saddle and it seems to work fine)
swapped 75mm stem in favor of 60mm stem.
everything else is pretty standard.

I did switch back to clipless pedals this year, but have used them on and off in the past and never had a problem.

My riding is much faster, and I am doing more miles than previous years. Early in the season I did not have numbness problem at all. No changes made to the bike since I started riding it in march/april. Numbness is mild.

Any thoughts? Suggestions?

Move saddle forward, aft, tilt it differently? Rotate bars slightly? reposition cleats? shimz? moar shimz? try it now? quit riding all together and take up fixies?

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
have you changed your cleat position on your shoes?

try rolling your handlebar foreward (or backward). i had the same issue w/ my hands once and that solved it.

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
have you changed your cleat position on your shoes?

try rolling your handlebar foreward (or backward). i had the same issue w/ my hands once and that solved it.
No, same shoes I wear for downhill and road bike (until I get unlazy and put cleats on my other shoes) and I don't have numbness problems on those bikes. But it seems like a logical suggestion, just not sure which direction to move them. Maybe just move them to move them and see what happens?

Will do on rolling the bars a touch and see how that works.

I know something must be slightly out of place, just not sure what or how to find it, I guess I should just start experimenting a bit.

yd35

Monkey
Oct 28, 2008
NY
In regard to hand pain: Have you changed your grips recently, or are your current grips really worn?

Last edited:

Josef

Monkey
Apr 17, 2013