Quantcast

Good Hardpack UST Tire Besides DHF and Comp 24?

John P.

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2001
Golden, CO
I've got a race coming up next week, and I need some help on tires for the course (Highland mountain, NH - mostly very hard packed). I've got plenty of experience on Michelin Comp 24's and Maxxis DHF's, but QBP is out of both right now.

Any advice on a good substitute? I'd really prefer UST if at all possible - my beater wheels are ghetto'd Azonic Outlaws, and my race wheels are 853's.

Thanks,

John

dhkid

Turbo Monkey
Mar 10, 2005
Malaysia
have a look at some intense edges, they have a similar thread to a comp 24, just a bit more aggressive.

as for ust, they have a good bead and seal really well, just need a little bit of sealant.

Banshee Rider

Turbo Monkey
Jul 31, 2003
I pretty much only put High Rollers or Minion F's on for racing at that mountain. It appears QBP is out of the UST High Rollers as well though.

davep

Turbo Monkey
Jan 7, 2005
seattle
It appears QBP is out of the UST High Rollers as well though.
the standard (3C) maxxis work perfectly w/o tubes fyi....

John, if you really want some 24s, I have a couple brand new ones sitting here in my garage. I could sell them to you at 'cost' or you could send me something when they are available again....shipping might be a b1tch from seattle (time and $$) but let me know if you want to stay with what you know...

Banshee Rider

Turbo Monkey
Jul 31, 2003
the standard (3C) maxxis work perfectly w/o tubes fyi....
Yes, I never used UST tires when I used to run 823s, standards with stans worked fine. I figured I'd keep it relative to UST though since he didn't seem open to non-UST. (They're in stock)

jsh191

Monkey
Nov 16, 2006
birdsboro, pa
Hutchinson Barracuda.
i just started running the cuda's (2.5) on my bottlerocket, and have nothing but good things to say. i've run them on hardpack and loose east coast terrain, and would definitely buy them again.