Quantcast

A new addition

Mike B.

Turbo Monkey
Oct 5, 2001
State College, PA
Background: I've been riding nothing but 29ers for the last 3 years or so to include a Ti Racer X and a Salsa El Mariachi. The Racer X gets all the trail use, the Salsa sees daily commuting, (very) occasional trail and some dirt roads. While I love the RX for all day rides it just isn't designed to let it all hang out. I was looking for something to bomb around on those 2 hour type rides, jump the log piles instead of roll them and just add a little fun back in the mix that I've been missing since moving from 26". For me, 26" bikes just jump and pop off obstacles so much better.

Enter the WFO. I don't know that I need that much travel (5.5") but I was after some slacker angles and that fun feeling bike I'd been missing. After one good ride on the local trails, I think I've found what I've been missing. Build is as follows:
Large WFO, 135mm rear with RP23
Marzocchi 44 Micro Ti
I9 Classic hubs on ZTR Flows with DT Supercomps and DT RWS 10mm for the rear
Currently running some 2.35 Rampages
XO shifty bits and rear derailleur
XT cranks and front derailleur
Gamut bashguard
Hope Tech X2 brakes 183f/160r
Beat but trusty Time Control Z pedals with ti kit installed
Salsa 11 deg bar with ESI grips
Thomson X4 stem, 90x0
WTB Rocket V and Thomson Masterpiece post borrowed from the Racer X