Quantcast

Wheel build question

Sandwich

Pig my fish!
Staff member
May 23, 2002
borcester rhymes
I'm thinking about building up new wheels for my enduro 29er.

I've found some hubs that are 28h, straight pull. They're a really, really good deal. (Dt 350s)

Laced to carbon, 30mm wide, zero bead hook Nextie/Light Bike rims, and used for XC/trail (not lift, not enduro), do you smart guys think they'd hold up under a 200lb rider?

Normally i would want 32 spokes, and probably even more for an ideal 29er build, but I don't have the wheel building experience to really say yay or nay, and I have zero experience with carbon rims.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
my wang chung carbon wheels are 28h. i weigh about the same as you and they've held up no problem. i wanna say the front is 2x, and the rear is 2x disc side and radial drive side. i can check if you want.

fwiw i have something like 3 years on them now, and haven't even had to true them once. and i ride them HARD. :knocks on wood:

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
oh, they're not straight pull and 26".

which aspect of the build would you be most concerned about? straight pull? spoke count? in theory straight pull are supposed to be strong because there's no bend.

yd35

Monkey
Oct 28, 2008
NY
Damn, I thought this was the thread with the angry chav wheelbuilder. How disappointing.

HAB

Chelsea from Seattle
Apr 28, 2007
Seattle
Ideally I'd go with more spokes but they should be okay.

I hate straight pull hubs because they can be a huge PITA to lace, and because finding the right spokes for them is a million times harder. But that's a separate issue. They're sturdy enough.

blindboxx2334

Turbo Monkey
Mar 19, 2013
Wets Coast
I hate straight pull hubs because they can be a huge PITA to lace, .