Quantcast
  1. XenForo is here. Problems or comments on the new site? Please report them.
  2. New stuff: Our new Classifieds have launched. Check them out!
  3. New stuff: You can now tag users in posts using the @ symbol, and they'll get a notification that they've been mentioned. Try it out.

SportWorks Transport T2?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by BigMike, May 16, 2005.

  1. BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,935
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Is the rack still the same now that it was bought by Thule?

    And if so, should I get one? I figure it will be waaaaaay better than my current Thule Expressway. It takes me 10 minutes to finagle my RMX on to it.

    So, what do you :monkey:s think, should I get me one?
    #1 May 16, 2005   
  2. sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,475
    Location:
    SF
    The current batches of T2 are made by Sportworks. They shut out the local dealers by producing a huge batch for Thule before they close up shop.
    #2 May 16, 2005   
  3. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    Sportworks racks remain the same even if they got bought out by Thule.

    Only by 2006 will you start seeing Sportworks racks with the name “Thule” on them.
    #3 May 16, 2005   
  4. gmoney80 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    colorado springs, co
    Make Sure You Get The Freeride/downhill Version Of The T2 Because A 2.5 Tire Will Not Fit Right On The Normal T2 I Know Because I Had That Problem The Trays On The Dh Version Are Bigger The Colorado Cyclist Still Sells The Downhill Version Of The T2
    #4 May 16, 2005   
  5. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    say what? I think you are confusing the T2 with the TranSport rack.

    Tires up to 3.0 will fit in ANY T2 rack..
    #5 May 16, 2005   
  6. sanjuro Tube Smuggler

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    17,475
    Location:
    SF
    Are you talking about the old Transport racks? They required the Phat Hoops upgrade to correctly fit big tires.
    #6 May 16, 2005   
  7. Secret Squirrel There is no Justice!

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,177
    Location:
    Up sh*t creek, without a paddle
    Yeah, I just got my T2 about 3 weeks ago....thing F*CKING rox!!!! I ride a 03 rotec with an 02 Monster. Makes it a 48" wheelbase and just shy of 50 lbs....that rack makes it soooooooo ez to load and unload it's wrong. That, and it'll hold up to 4 bikes that weigh 40 lbs. a piece. Buy one now!!!
    #7 May 16, 2005   
  8. Kntr Active Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,491
    Location:
    Montana
    #8 May 16, 2005   
  9. BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,935
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    OK, I'm sold. If its good enough for some :monkey:'s, its good enough for me :)

    Anyone want to buy a Thule Expressway? :D
    #9 May 16, 2005   
  10. SPUTNECK New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    STOP! Only the Freeride downhill version is rated for 50lb bikes....and its only 2 trays. I have an original transport T2 with the 4 bike version....and you can certainly do 4 dh rigs on it.....but after a short while it will show fatigue. Yes, I own one of each. I now only use the T2 for xc and road bikes. If you tray up 4 dh bikes on it.....run a strap from the last two bikes to a roof rack of something to help offset the flex of the rack with that much downforce on it. But remember, you are way outside the warranty and what they recommend...so if it snaps, its your dollar.

    Other than that...its been the best bike rack ever...so easy to use!!!

    Sputneck.
    #10 May 17, 2005   
  11. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    Sportworks Rack lesson:
    TranSport series (non T2 version):


    TranSport Freeride version:


    TranSport T2:
    #11 May 17, 2005   
  12. BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,935
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    From the Thule Website for the T2, part 260120:
    http://thuleracks.com/thule/product.asp?dept_id=8&sku=260120
    #12 May 17, 2005   
  13. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    the T2 is specifically designed for heavier bikes - it enables you to carry 4, 40lb bikes OR 3, 50lb bikes. That is on the 2" hitch.

    You can do 2, 50lb bikes on the smaller size hitch assembly (1 and 1/4).
    #13 May 17, 2005   
  14. renegade999 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    331
    who's got the lowest price on these racks?
    #14 May 17, 2005   
  15. BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,935
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD

    The Thule Pro Deal site..........Thats why I'm so excited.

    I have been eyeing a Sportworks rack for a looooooooong time, and after this past weekend, I was just gonna suck up the money and buy one. then I found out Thule bought them, and now I can get one for cheap :)


    Anyway...... Rack outfitters has them for $299 here

    Thats one of the best prices I've seen (Its MSRP is $360)
    #15 May 17, 2005   
  16. thesacrifice New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    360
    I own a T-2, besides it being pretty high on the back of my SUV it rules!
    #16 May 17, 2005   
  17. BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,935
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Why is it so high? I drive a Nissan Pathfinder. I don't really care about it being high, I'm just wondering.

    Folded up, how far does it stick out from the back? The Expressway I have sticks out waaaaaaaaay far and it makes it a pain to parallell park in the city
    #17 May 18, 2005   
  18. Jm_ Active Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    4   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    3,870
    Location:
    AK
    I sold one of the transport freerides last week. Dang nice rack, but like all of the nice hitch racks, pricy. It's easy to use and set up though. Definitely what I'd get if I had a hitch.
    #18 May 18, 2005   
  19. SPUTNECK New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I hate it when i get confused.. :nuts:
    #19 May 18, 2005   
  20. markc826 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    L-Town
    I recently bought the T2 from Sunrise Cyclery in NY. I ordered it online for $299.99 and the shipping was free. That was the best deal I could find but they have since raised the price to like $319.00 with free shipping which is still a killer deal.
    This rack is the best on the market!

    https://shop.sunrisecyclery.com/item/12135/
    #20 May 18, 2005   
  21. Secret Squirrel There is no Justice!

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,177
    Location:
    Up sh*t creek, without a paddle

    It sticks out the back of my Jeep about a foot when folded...isn't too bad at all. And the anti-wobble mechanism rocks. Just took it up a fire road for the first time with my 50 lb. rotec hangin' off and it took some gigantic potholes with ease!!!
    #21 May 18, 2005   
  22. peachy New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    297
    Location:
    vancouver,bc
    high is good. clearance.
    #22 May 18, 2005   
  23. BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,935
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Well, I'm sold, I'm gonna order one.

    Thanks guys :)
    #23 May 18, 2005   
  24. J New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Is the T2 completely solid at the 4bar pivot in it's side to side motion and up and down motion?

    Anybody find a cheaper price than $319 shipped? or $299 not shipped?
    Thanks.

    -J
    #24 May 25, 2005   
  25. Mr. Furious New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Do you guys leave the rack attached to your vehicles or do you take it off at the end of the day. I've got a Mazda 3 and don't want to drive around monday-friday with a rack folded up on the back... I'd rather throw it into storage.. just wondering if it's convenient to hook up/take down
    #25 May 26, 2005   
  26. Incubus New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It's a matter of loosening two [rather large] bolts. The rack itself is fairly heavy so hopefully you have a garage you can leave it in. I need to lug it up/down the stairs of my apt. building.
    #26 May 26, 2005   
  27. Mr. Furious New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    So it is feasible then? I live in an apartment building but only have one flight of stairs to deal with
    #27 May 26, 2005   
  28. Secret Squirrel There is no Justice!

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,177
    Location:
    Up sh*t creek, without a paddle
    Yeah...you need a 3/4" and a 15/16" wrench to loosen the two bolts that hold it on....so my solution is a medium sized adjustable cresent wrench!!! Two birds with one stone and all that sh!t....Yeah...1 flight of stairs wouldn't be all that bad. It's a little cumbersome but no more so than a DH/FR bike would be!
    #28 May 26, 2005   
  29. narlus Eastcoast Softcore Staff Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,595
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    so does most everyone take it off when they are not using it? seems like a bit of a pain, and i'm wondering about potential galling of the internal threads over time if you are constantly removing/installing the bolts.

    that said, it'd be a huge bummer to have some crook steal yr $300 rack. are there any locks or anti-theft measures available if you don't want to remove it after each use and still want (some) peace of mind?
    #29 Jun 20, 2005   
  30. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    I always take mine off when I'm not using it...doesn't take that long - unscrew the bolt and slide off. :thumb:
    #30 Jun 20, 2005   
  31. Secret Squirrel There is no Justice!

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,177
    Location:
    Up sh*t creek, without a paddle
    Well....nothing is "theft-proof"....just different degrees of "theft-deterrent"...

    Unless the thief is carrying around an adjustable cresent wrench (or the two exact sizes of wrenches) and wants to look like he's stealing something...(a rack like the T2 is just a little noticeable...and cumbersome) no one will bother.

    As for galling of the threads....I wouldn't worry about it. It's pretty solid construction so you'll prolly need a new rack from bouncing up and down fireroads (or if you live in Seattle...I-5) before the threads and bolts wear out.
    #31 Jun 20, 2005   
  32. Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep  |  Likes:
    9   |   6
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,149
    when i had my sportworks hitch rack i never took it off. and no, it wasn't stolen. i also leave my roof rack on all the time.
    #32 Jun 20, 2005   
  33. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    I'm not taking it off as theft prevention, but more to get better gas mileage when I'm not hauling my bike around. Plus it’s easier for me to access the hatch when the rack isn’t there.
    #33 Jun 20, 2005   
  34. narlus Eastcoast Softcore Staff Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,595
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    my trunk isn't obstructed by the rack, but ostensibly one of the reasons i wanted to get a hitch rack was to get better mileage. :think: luc, what kind of MPG difference did you see from not having the weight of the rack on yr car?
    #34 Jun 20, 2005   
  35. Acadian Born Again Newbie

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Blah Blah and Blah
    You mean without the bikes on? like if i was just driving around with the rack on my car?

    Couldn’t tell you...I always take it off when I'm not using it.

    Also, my car is lowered and has stiffer springs - not as fun to drive when it has unnecessary weight in the back.

    If I had a truck/suv/van – I would probably leave it on. When I had my Isuzu, I never took the hitch rack off.
    #35 Jun 20, 2005   

Share This Page