Quantcast

should i loctite brake rotor bolts?

Discussion in 'The Shop' started by macko, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. macko New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    THE Palouse
    i was told by someone i don't recall to [blue] loctite the bolts when installing my brake rotors. what's the consensus on this?

    I'm a fairly large guy (6'3" 185 lbs) but i'm not doing downhill or anything...this is my xc bike with 160mm hayes disc brakes.
    #1
  2. Makana425 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    200
    Location:
    Snocompton
    I dont, but i just check them periodically to make sure they are still tight.
    #2
  3. macko New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    THE Palouse
    okay thanks...I didn't think it was necessary but just wanted to reaffirm I wasn't flirting with disaster.
    #3
  4. IH8Rice I'm Mr. Negative! I Fail!

    Rep  |  Likes:
    19   |   68
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    23,585
    Media:
    40
    Location:
    Im over here now
    damn, if youre large at 6'3" 185lbs, i must be f-ing huge to you at 6'3" 225.

    i didnt loctite my bolts, unless they came with some on there...just check them periodically.
    #4
  5. macko New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    THE Palouse
    heh...well, I guess I was trying to point out that I'm not your typical 5'10 150 lbs. xc rider. :poster_oops:

    anywhoo thanks for the replies!
    #5
  6. ridiculous New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    1   |   0
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,917
    Location:
    MD / NoVA
    My rotor bolts & brake adapter hardware came with a patch already installed on them, which I do check periodically. I do loctite (246 blue) my headset, shifter, axle and some frame bolts.
    #6
  7. 1453 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    816
    Location:
    down the road from Pleasure Point
    all my rotor bolts have come with blue loctite on them, so it can't hurt. But I wouldn't use red loctite though.
    #7
  8. zebrahum New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    Location:
    SL,UT
    yep, rotor bolts come with blue on them, and you should both loctite and check them once in a while. If a bolt gets loose, the bolt will first thrash the rotor then probably make the brake fail or lock the wheel
    #8
  9. motostu93 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    santa barbara, CA
    i would loctite them if they dont already have loctite on the threads. just make sure and use the blue
    #9
  10. RUFUS e-douche of the year

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,529
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    ??? Not true at all. You will hear and feel loose bolts but they can't thrash the rotor. How would the brake fail and/or lock the wheel?

    I loctite my bolts now on all of my bikes when installing rotors just to make sure that they have a little better hold on them. I do check them periodically though and some loosen even with loctite.

    I've had bolts loosen and you can hear it, your brakes will squeal and the lever will usually feel a little different. Some people think that the caliper is loose or the pads are bad but it is sometimes simply loose rotor bolts.

    It never hurts to throw some on each.
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2009
    #10
  11. Sghost New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,075
    Location:
    NY
    I blue locktite them.

    Your bolts will get sheared off before a rotor starts wobbling like crazy and mauls itself. Either of those is still pretty far fetched if you start with 6 tight bolts.
    #11
  12. Brian HCM#1 MMMMMMMMM BEER!!!!!!!!!!

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    31,182
    Media:
    2
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yep, some come with it, however if there is none I use some grease. They never come loose and easy to remove in the future.
    #12
  13. shift96 New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    I've seen some crazy **** happen in my years of racing motorcycles and moutnain biking. There is no way you can say what will NOT happen if brake rotor bolts fall out. just lock tight them and check every now and then.
    #13