Quantcast

Romic Compression rebuild??? help please...

before i go unscrewing bolts, i want to know if there is some kind of air valve on a Romic D shock that i could possibly pump it up again through...
everything on the shock still works(i.e. rebound, and typical compression) and there is a spike in the compression towards the end of the stroke when i have it fully cranked up, but through the first 2/3 of the stroke, compression doesnt work...

is there some way to recharge it on my own or do i really have to send it in?

thanks

dhkid

Turbo Monkey
Mar 10, 2005
Malaysia
i have no experience with the romic, but it supposedly needs a pressurized chamber when rebuilt.

ChrisRobin

Turbo Monkey
Jan 30, 2002
Vancouver
I've never heard of someone rebuilding a Romic shock other than Vitox if I remember correctly. I wouldn't start unscrewing things just yet.

-Danno-

Chimp
Jan 31, 2006
I changed the oil in a couple of them a few weeks ago. I used a little piece of electrical tape on the bottom side of the seal head to act as a check valve, and a basketball inflater with tape wrapped around it to fit tightly in the air fill hole (capped by that little allen screw). I pondered how to do this for a while, and tried this on a whim. I was amazed it work so well.

I put in 150 psi which may be a bit higher than what was in there originally. I have to say that they work great now. They`re completely silent and the damping seems to be perfect. That`s a nice change from the way they`ve been working for the past year or so.