Quantcast

Opanda Exif (Nikon Users)

Discussion in 'Creative Pursuits' started by WhoRyder, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. WhoRyder New Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,835
    Location:
    NYC
    If you are wondering how many pictures your camera has taken please follow these instructions:

    Steps to Check a Nikon Digital SLR Camera Shutter Count

    1- Using your Nikon camera, take a picture in JPEG format. RAW formatted images won’t work with Opanda IExif.

    2- Transfer that picture from your camera to your personal computer.

    3- Download Opanda IExif. Double click the setup file to install it and click the Panda icon on the desktop to run it.

    4- Select the “Open” menu icon. Choose the photo that you have taken before. Your picture will be shown on top left of the interface.



    5- Select the “Summary” tab.

    6- Scroll down until you reach the “MakerNote (Nikon)” section. Scroll down a little bit more until you find the “Total Number of Shutter Releases for Camera” attribute. A number will be shown next to this attribute. That my friend, is your Nikon Digital SLR shutter count.



    FYI, you will only get your shutter count from an Unedited Picture, if you edited a pic (resized anything) it will not display the Shutter count....

    i'm @ 6885 photos on my D300
    #1
  2. pinkshirtphotos site moron

    Rep  |  Likes:
    0   |   2
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4,500
    Location:
    Vernon, NJ
    none for mac? Could I send someone a picture to tell me how many pictures I have taken?
    #2
  3. narlus Eastcoast Softcore Staff Member

    Rep  |  Likes:
    2   |   0
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    24,595
    Location:
    behind the viewfinder
    i just have my camera assign serial numbers to each image taken...it rolls over at 9999 but it's not too hard to figure out how many times that's happened.
    #3
  4. binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    19   |   23
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,129
    Location:
    NC
    That's default for all cameras but this gives you a fixed, easily identifiable way to check a camera's actuations - not just for you, but it's great for used equipment as well.
    #4
  5. Quo Fan don't make me kick your ass

    Rep  |  Likes:
    27   |   4
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    6,120
    Location:
    Here. I'm just not sure where "here" is.
    Doesn't work for Canon DSLR, Pentax P&S or Kodak P&S. I checked.
    #5
  6. binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep  |  Likes:
    19   |   23
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,129
    Location:
    NC
    Right. I don't think any other brand actually tracks that figure in a user-accessible location. I know Canon at least has the capability to read your actuation count at the service centers but there's no accessible way.
    #6