Votes: 6 24.0%
  • it doesn't matter

Votes: 3 12.0%

• Total voters

Tully

Monkey
Oct 8, 2003
Seattle, WA
I am planning to build a jump/park hardtail; should I go for dual 26's or dual 24's, and how come? I am a beginner dirt jumper and skatepark rider--I need something suitable for both, but jumping is way more important.

- seb

Turbo Monkey
Apr 10, 2002
UK
24s. The only benefit of larger wheels is that they roll over rough terrain better. 24s are stronger.

Some people will twaddle other crap about acceleration/center of gravity etc but that's neither here nor there since they are also dependent on gear ratios and frame/fork design.

Tully

Monkey
Oct 8, 2003
Seattle, WA
If you come up slightly short or long (rough landing, but not a "case"), is it a little smoother on 26's? I'm asking because I tend to do that fairly often.

Sir_Crackien

Turbo Monkey
Feb 7, 2004
alex. va. usa.
i voted doens't really matter because it depnd on what you are use to. it you use 26" wheel a 24" bike will feel really stupid and vise versa. it i have to pick 26" or 24" i would mose likely go for 26" because of their versitlity outside of the park and dj's

thaflyinfatman

Turbo Monkey
Jul 20, 2002
Victoria
IMO it depends on your frame more than anything. If you get a frame with a low BB (eg DMR Trailstar/sidekick, C'dale Chase etc) it will suck with 24's. Personally I prefer dual 26s because you can only get 521s (721s?) in 26", and they're so much easier to get tyres/tubes for, and you never have to worry about rim brakes not working with your frame etc etc. I used to have dual 24s; the tyre selection sucked and the BB was too low (DMR Trailstar) but it didn't really ride much different other than that.