Quantcast

Carbon DH advice?

Trasselkalle

Monkey
Oct 28, 2014
Sweden
I need some outside opinions: I may have an opportunity to buy a used Demo 8 S-Works from a WC rider.

Background: He hasn't competed on it as it's the wrong size for him but he has been riding it (2014 model, so one year old). It is, however, my size and I am getting a good price. I've been seriously considering the YT-Industries Tues Comp or Pro otherwise, meaning it's really a new vs used and trust question that I struggle with, rather than price. I don't know him personally, but I have no reason not to trust the pics I am getting and his general credibility, so that's not what I want to discuss here.

What I worry about is instead three things:
  1. I'm only getting started in DH - is this just waaaay too much bike for me to learn on? I have tons of bike-riding experience and I'm not new to extreme sports. I just need a new one to pursue and DH really hit home after renting/borrowing this season (at home as well as when travelling to various places around the world).
  2. Should I worry about it (and the parts) being beat up given the level of rider he is? I'm not sure I'd be comfortable buying a rental bike as I hate the whole second-guessing thing once things start breaking. I'm a decent mechanic from riding other types of bikes a long time, but DH is new to me so I don't really know the ins and outs of what to expect and look at in a used bike.
  3. Are carbon DH frames more of a risk for noob-crash breaking? I said thanks but no thanks at first, wanting to go for an alu frame as that felt more 'safe', but the tests at Santa Cruz (particularly the last one) kind of made me re-consider that.