Quantcast

Bombproof Wheels under $300.00

stinkyboy

Plastic Santa
Jan 6, 2005
¡Phoenix!
I bought my 1st freeride bike in December. A new 04 Stinky. The Deore hubs suck (I broke the front axle into 3 pieces yesterday on a 5' drop to flat). The 321's are questionable. I need a new set of wheels, and found some 05 DeeMax's for $525.00, but can't use the front because my Drop Off Triples are "throughaxleless". I'm not ready to buy a JuniorT, so, I need some "skewered" wheels. People have suggested Azonic Outlaws. Any monkeys wanna share their experience with a newbie.

Thanks!

Monkeybidnezz

Turbo Monkey
Dec 16, 2003
Pac NW
Good call on the Azonics. Burly rims, and the hubs are convertable so no matter what fork system you run you will have a wheelset that wont leave you high and dry.

toodles

ridiculously corgi proportioned
Aug 24, 2004
Australia
Yeah I've been running the Azonic Outlaws for 6 months now and they'll holding up great. The back wheel lost half it's spokes when a 3" stick went through it but it didn't damage the hub or rim. Laced it back up and it's running great.

joelsman

Turbo Monkey
Feb 1, 2002
B'ham
the 321's are good rims, if they are still good lace the front to a new hub, get one that converts from qr to 20mm like other people have said, it will save you money when you upgrade the fork.

Discostu

Monkey
Nov 15, 2003
Go with the outlaws, i'm running them with stans this season on my Turner DHR, I don't have any time on them yet but I hear they're solid and they look the part.

The 321 rims may hold up for awhile if you build them back up, but i don't think they will be as tough as the outlaws. These are the weaker XM321 not the D321 remember. (The D321 is an incredible rim by the way, I've had my D321 wheels for years and they still are perfect)

me89

Monkey
May 25, 2004
asheville