Quantcast

03 marzocchi monster t rebuild

Zach huitema

Chimp
Apr 19, 2015
hey guys and girls.
So about a month ago I decided to purchase a secondhand Kona stab (06) and rebuild it. This is my first time attempting to rebuild of a bike, and being a dh bike makes it a bit harder.
I'm new to the dh world btw, so beware if I don't make sense.

My problem is, that the bike came with marzocchi monster t forks on it that need attention. I've replaced the seals and oil, but unfortunately cannot find a suitable set of crowns and steerer tube for it.
My question is, do most aftermarket crowns fit on the monster? Or because of its size, does it require purpose built ones.
I've taken measurements and the hole centres on the crowns are 175mm
Any help will be greatly appreciated
Zakk

TrumbullHucker

trumbullruxer
Aug 29, 2005
shimzbury, ct
pretty sure the Monster T needs its own crowns cause its a big fork

my .02.. i would have saved my money with the seals and oil and gotten a newer fork for a couple hundred bucks

Zach huitema

Chimp
Apr 19, 2015
pretty sure the Monster T needs its own crowns cause its a big fork

my .02.. i would have saved my money with the seals and oil and gotten a newer fork for a couple hundred bucks
So should I just sell the forks as they are? As I'm fairly tight with money, how much do you think I could get for them? I could keep using them, I just wanted fresh new crowns on it. They still work like a dream, just a little banged in on its visuals.

And what forks do you recommend for a newbie who doesn't really do any downhill riding. It's mainly used for just cruising around the place with light mountain trails thrown in here and there

Kevin

Turbo Monkey
The bike you bought is less then ideal for what you want to do with it.
Crowns should be the last of your concerns and would be really hard to come by anyways amd the steerer tube would be an even bigger problem to replace and refit...