Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35
  1. #1
    BrokenbikeMike BigMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montgomery county MD
    Posts
    8,935
    Rep Power
    7

    SportWorks Transport T2?

    Is the rack still the same now that it was bought by Thule?

    And if so, should I get one? I figure it will be waaaaaay better than my current Thule Expressway. It takes me 10 minutes to finagle my RMX on to it.

    So, what do you s think, should I get me one?
    Quote Originally Posted by AngryMetalsmith View Post
    Welcome to RM, the only place on the net where multiple concussions are not an excuse for poor spelling and grammar.

  2. Advertisement - Log in or Register to hide this ad
  3. #2
    Tube Smuggler sanjuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    17,475
    Rep Power
    10
    The current batches of T2 are made by Sportworks. They shut out the local dealers by producing a huge batch for Thule before they close up shop.

  4. #3
    Born Again Newbie Acadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blah Blah and Blah
    Posts
    725
    Rep Power
    7
    Sportworks racks remain the same even if they got bought out by Thule.

    Only by 2006 will you start seeing Sportworks racks with the name “Thule” on them.

  5. #4
    Grasshopper
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    colorado springs, co
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    6
    Make Sure You Get The Freeride/downhill Version Of The T2 Because A 2.5 Tire Will Not Fit Right On The Normal T2 I Know Because I Had That Problem The Trays On The Dh Version Are Bigger The Colorado Cyclist Still Sells The Downhill Version Of The T2

  6. #5
    Born Again Newbie Acadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blah Blah and Blah
    Posts
    725
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by gmoney80
    Make Sure You Get The Freeride/downhill Version Of The T2 Because A 2.5 Tire Will Not Fit Right On The Normal T2 I Know Because I Had That Problem The Trays On The Dh Version Are Bigger The Colorado Cyclist Still Sells The Downhill Version Of The T2
    say what? I think you are confusing the T2 with the TranSport rack.

    Tires up to 3.0 will fit in ANY T2 rack..

  7. #6
    Tube Smuggler sanjuro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    17,475
    Rep Power
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by gmoney80
    Make Sure You Get The Freeride/downhill Version Of The T2 Because A 2.5 Tire Will Not Fit Right On The Normal T2 I Know Because I Had That Problem The Trays On The Dh Version Are Bigger The Colorado Cyclist Still Sells The Downhill Version Of The T2
    Are you talking about the old Transport racks? They required the Phat Hoops upgrade to correctly fit big tires.

  8. #7
    There is no Justice! Secret Squirrel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Up sh*t creek, without a paddle
    Posts
    8,177
    Rep Power
    8

    Just do it!!

    Yeah, I just got my T2 about 3 weeks ago....thing F*CKING rox!!!! I ride a 03 rotec with an 02 Monster. Makes it a 48" wheelbase and just shy of 50 lbs....that rack makes it soooooooo ez to load and unload it's wrong. That, and it'll hold up to 4 bikes that weigh 40 lbs. a piece. Buy one now!!!
    Quote Originally Posted by ohio
    You really want to be a victim, but are stuck in that damn white skin? Turn gay.

  9. #8
    Turbo Monkey Kntr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    7,487
    Rep Power
    6
    The 4 trays is sweeeet. Mine should be here any day.

    http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.ph...=sportworks+T2
    Last edited by Kntr; 05-16-2005 at 06:43 PM.

  10. #9
    BrokenbikeMike BigMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montgomery county MD
    Posts
    8,935
    Rep Power
    7
    OK, I'm sold. If its good enough for some 's, its good enough for me

    Anyone want to buy a Thule Expressway?
    Quote Originally Posted by AngryMetalsmith View Post
    Welcome to RM, the only place on the net where multiple concussions are not an excuse for poor spelling and grammar.

  11. #10
    Monkey SPUTNECK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    152
    Rep Power
    6

    be careful

    Quote Originally Posted by Secret Squirrel
    Yeah, I just got my T2 about 3 weeks ago....thing F*CKING rox!!!! I ride a 03 rotec with an 02 Monster. Makes it a 48" wheelbase and just shy of 50 lbs....that rack makes it soooooooo ez to load and unload it's wrong. That, and it'll hold up to 4 bikes that weigh 40 lbs. a piece. Buy one now!!!
    STOP! Only the Freeride downhill version is rated for 50lb bikes....and its only 2 trays. I have an original transport T2 with the 4 bike version....and you can certainly do 4 dh rigs on it.....but after a short while it will show fatigue. Yes, I own one of each. I now only use the T2 for xc and road bikes. If you tray up 4 dh bikes on it.....run a strap from the last two bikes to a roof rack of something to help offset the flex of the rack with that much downforce on it. But remember, you are way outside the warranty and what they recommend...so if it snaps, its your dollar.

    Other than that...its been the best bike rack ever...so easy to use!!!

    Sputneck.
    "You win some you lose most"

    utopiaoptics.com
    toolshed-usa.com
    dietycomponents.com
    marzocchi.com
    sunrims.com
    sixsixone.com
    the-industries.com
    gravitypilot.net

  12. #11
    Born Again Newbie Acadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blah Blah and Blah
    Posts
    725
    Rep Power
    7
    Sportworks Rack lesson:
    TranSport series (non T2 version):


    TranSport Freeride version:


    TranSport T2:

  13. #12
    BrokenbikeMike BigMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montgomery county MD
    Posts
    8,935
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by SPUTNECK
    STOP! Only the Freeride downhill version is rated for 50lb bikes....and its only 2 trays. I have an original transport T2 with the 4 bike version....and you can certainly do 4 dh rigs on it.....but after a short while it will show fatigue. Yes, I own one of each. I now only use the T2 for xc and road bikes. If you tray up 4 dh bikes on it.....run a strap from the last two bikes to a roof rack of something to help offset the flex of the rack with that much downforce on it. But remember, you are way outside the warranty and what they recommend...so if it snaps, its your dollar.

    Other than that...its been the best bike rack ever...so easy to use!!!

    Sputneck.
    From the Thule Website for the T2, part 260120:
    FEATURES

    * No wheel removal, no frame contact
    * 4 Bike – 2” hitch
    * Folds up for storage and down for access!
    * Fits a wide range of bikes
    * Carries bikes up to 50 pounds
    * Handles wheels 20”-29” and up to 3” wide tires
    * Bomber anti-wobble feature·
    * Locking accessory available
    http://thuleracks.com/thule/product....d=8&sku=260120
    Quote Originally Posted by AngryMetalsmith View Post
    Welcome to RM, the only place on the net where multiple concussions are not an excuse for poor spelling and grammar.

  14. #13
    Born Again Newbie Acadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blah Blah and Blah
    Posts
    725
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by BigMike
    From the Thule Website for the T2, part 260120:
    the T2 is specifically designed for heavier bikes - it enables you to carry 4, 40lb bikes OR 3, 50lb bikes. That is on the 2" hitch.

    You can do 2, 50lb bikes on the smaller size hitch assembly (1 and 1/4).

  15. #14
    Monkey
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    331
    Rep Power
    5
    who's got the lowest price on these racks?

  16. #15
    BrokenbikeMike BigMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montgomery county MD
    Posts
    8,935
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by renegade999
    who's got the lowest price on these racks?

    The Thule Pro Deal site..........Thats why I'm so excited.

    I have been eyeing a Sportworks rack for a looooooooong time, and after this past weekend, I was just gonna suck up the money and buy one. then I found out Thule bought them, and now I can get one for cheap


    Anyway...... Rack outfitters has them for $299 here

    Thats one of the best prices I've seen (Its MSRP is $360)
    Quote Originally Posted by AngryMetalsmith View Post
    Welcome to RM, the only place on the net where multiple concussions are not an excuse for poor spelling and grammar.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •