PDA

View Full Version : pinkbike scam??


Woolleyfooley
04-22-2006, 03:07 PM
http://www.pinkbike.com/buysell/178698/

any one have an opinion if this is a scam or not? i havent emailed him or anything but it looks like a scam to me. any second opinions?

biggins
04-22-2006, 03:14 PM
i wouldnt trust unless the guy has a valid excuse for selling that cheap.may be stolen as well.

blue
04-22-2006, 03:20 PM
It's a scam...check this photo

http://www.pinkbike.com/photo/814056/

Look at the cars license plate and the make...MG with a Euro plate. And he claims to be in Oklahoma.

Woolleyfooley
04-22-2006, 03:53 PM
damn i really liked that bike too lol.

padrik5
04-22-2006, 03:56 PM
It's a scam...check this photo

http://www.pinkbike.com/photo/814056/

Look at the cars license plate and the make...MG with a Euro plate. And he claims to be in Oklahoma.

dam, what do you do for a job?

blue
04-22-2006, 04:26 PM
dam, what do you do for a job?

I make sandwiches.

:)

-dustin
04-22-2006, 06:19 PM
i sent him an e-mail....

Woolleyfooley
04-22-2006, 07:04 PM
i sent him an e-mail....

the guy selling the orange? if you find out anything let me know please.

Transcend
04-22-2006, 08:30 PM
I'd like to know where someone int he USA got a mint 224 cheap enough to sell it already. There is no official distribution in the USA, so getting a frame is both costly and time consuming.

Tattooo
04-22-2006, 10:30 PM
Man, those sandwiches must taste pretty good when you serve them with a warrant.

Transcend
04-22-2006, 10:59 PM
Man, those sandwiches must taste pretty good when you serve them with a warrant.

Exactly. :rofl:

-dustin
04-22-2006, 11:00 PM
shut up, guys. i'm gonna get a sweetass deal on a sweetass frame.

SuperJ
04-23-2006, 02:12 AM
shut up, guys. i'm gonna get a sweetass deal on a sweetass frame.

I hope your kidding. I would bet my middle nut that this person is a terrorist trying to scam you to pay for WMD's.

blue
04-23-2006, 02:50 AM
Pfft, the bike IS a WMD. It's just a scam to smuggle a nuke into the US.

:p

-dustin
04-23-2006, 09:17 AM
he still hasn't replied. :(

ThePriceSeliger
04-23-2006, 09:24 AM
I wish it was real!

Woolleyfooley
04-23-2006, 09:41 AM
I wish it was real!

i think everyone does lol.

Hailight
04-23-2006, 04:31 PM
if deals like that were real everybody would ride a 223

-dustin
04-24-2006, 09:41 PM
Hi Dustin,

Thanks for quick reply. The shipping costs to you will be around 90$. I will pay half of them , so you will have to pay about 45$.
I am willing to use an escrow service, a shipping company, they will handle shipping and payment in a secure way for both, I think this is the best way and safe.

I am waiting your answer if you accept so we can make the arrangements.

Regards,
Christopher

blue
04-24-2006, 09:45 PM
Ask him if he's still in Oklahoma anymore. :p

jts
04-26-2006, 01:34 PM
that clown has multiple bikes on pinkbike. for pure comedy, ask him a question.

q: what size is the bike? what are the components?

a: There are no dents!

jonKranked
04-26-2006, 01:48 PM
It's a scam...check this photo

http://www.pinkbike.com/photo/814056/

Look at the cars license plate and the make...MG with a Euro plate. And he claims to be in Oklahoma.


some people purchase euro plates online for their front bumper to try and look cool. :redX:

cacocker
04-26-2006, 02:49 PM
I have been exchanging emails. He seems legitimate, even willing to use escrow and if i am unsatisfied i can return for a refund. currently i am asking which escrow he plans on using. if the company checks out, is there any reason i shouldnt go thru?

vibiker
04-26-2006, 03:23 PM
Get his phone #. Add another level of comfort by talking to him.

NORTON
04-26-2006, 03:29 PM
some people purchase euro plates online for their front bumper to try and look cool. :redX:


also it looks like his brakes are setup odd, front brake on right. I heard that was how they do it in Euro-land.

cacocker
04-26-2006, 03:47 PM
I just got off the phone with United Shipping (the company he was going to use). DO NOT BUY!! It is a scam and United Shipping has turned it over to the FBI. I spoke with Greg Treco the United Shipping Manager in Denver about this. He knew all about this wonderful mountain bike and apparently a number of people have taken the bait.

-dustin
04-26-2006, 03:53 PM
i asked to meet him and pick it up...

Hi Dustin,

I have an account open at shipping company, they have my bike in their custody, so I have to use them

jts
04-26-2006, 04:39 PM
not to slag on anyone, but i'm amazed that these scammers are as successul as they are. i e-mailed the same Dbag about an epic, his form e-mail came back, and it had scam written all over it. i asked a follow-up question and it was obvious this guy was fake. unless a seller is ready and able to give you a phone number, tell you where they are, are at least open to having a friend in the neighborhood (hell, make one up) do the pick up and pay cash, and can answer some basic tech questions or offer a custom photo ("how about a better pic of the crank"), then it's not worth it.

blue
04-26-2006, 10:42 PM
some people purchase euro plates online for their front bumper to try and look cool. :redX:

Yeah, but the make of the car gave it away.